Happy Holidays - Mid Atlantic Retina offices will be closed Monday, Jan 2nd.

Read More

39th Annual Meeting of the American Society Retina Specialists

The American Society of Retina Specialists (ASRS) recently held their annual meeting in San Antonio where multiple Mid Atlantic Retina doctors and fellows taught, presented and moderated throughout the weekend.

Carl Regillo, MD who serves on the Program Committee for ASRS, was presented with the ASRS 2020 Founders Award. The Founders Award is presented to individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of vitreoretinal surgery, treatment, research, surgical instrumentation and patient care. 

Sunir Garg, MD was awarded the inaugural Women in Retina Award for his mentorship and support of women in retina.

Dr. Regillo, Dr. Garg, Allen Ho, MD, Jason Hsu, MD, and Ajay Kuriyan, MD and were awarded a Presidential Award, the highest award of the ASRS award system. The system awards points for contributing to the annual meeting as a faculty, author or moderator.

Ali M. Khan, MD
Impact of Race on Vision Outcomes in Ranibizumab-Treated Patients with Diabetic Macular Edema: A Meta-Analysis of 5 Clinical Trials
Jason Hsu, MDAvacincaptad Pegol, A Novel C5 Inhibitor, Demonstrates Continued Reduction in Geographic Atrophy Growth: 18-Month Results From GATHER1 Clinical Trial
Ajay Kuriyan, MD – Smoking and Increased Risk of PVR: Is Increased TNF-α a Key Causative Factor?
Sunir Garg, MDThe Influence of Universal Face Mask Use on Endophthalmitis Risk After Intravitreal Anti-VEGF Injections During the COVID-19 Pandemic
Carl Regillo, MDThe Journey of the Port Delivery System
Yoshihiro Yonekawa, MDEndophthalmitis Following Minimally Invasive Glaucoma Surgery: Incidence, Clinical Features, Microbiology, and Management Outcomes
Samir Patel, MDBacterial Dispersion Associated with Various Patient Face Mask Designs During Simulated Intravitreal Injections
Rebecca Soares, MDGeographic Access Disparities of Clinical Trials in Neovascular Age-Related Macular Degeneration in the United States